View Full Version : 3 Weeks into Adderall...when do you give up?

HocusFocus22
06-05-17, 11:52 AM
My 6 y/o son was recently diagnosed with ADHD, and through that process I recognized I myself had the same symptoms (very bright but lack of focus/discipline to complete tasks). I did the tests and met my psychologist who diagnosed me w/ ADD. I primarily wanted help focusing at work, I work in sales and often get distracted since I work from home, set my own routine, etc. I need guidance since that is not provided by anyone but myself...met my primary care physician who started me on Adderall XL, 10mg pills, said to take 1-2 in the morning each day. Here are my results:

Week 1, took 10MG at 6:30am: felt very stiff in my neck, sore jaw, just overall very tense. I remember yelling (uncharacteristically) at my son in the early afternoon, and it freaked me out. Overall my mood was a bit down, like it was a cloudy day, not excited to get up and work. I did notice a boost in the day in that I cleaned the house like crazy, definitely felt a boost in energy, but not a boost in focus and my mood seemed to go down.

Week 2, took 20MG at 6:30am: doubled the dose, and that was not really noticeable. I did catch myself at times talking really fast, over the person I was conversing with, and did seem able to focus a little better. But my mood was again a bit tense, dark, almost angry. It felt like to be happy and fun I had to convince myself to do it, being a salesman I'm typically very fun and outgoing, but that wasn't happening.

Week 3, took 200MG at 6:30am, same dose as last week, and maybe just getting used to the drug, but didn't feel much at all. Still a bit down, never felt like being really fun and positive, just kind of flat. no tense/pain like week 1, just kind of a flat week.