View Full Version : Always giving it all for nothing...

jonny5
06-06-17, 03:00 AM
Hi, I am 36 years old and my whole life it has been hard for me to keep a job for a long period of time. My longest job has been about 3 1/2 years. I am an electrician and a plumber. I have been doing my trades for over 20 years.

My issue seems to be I give my life to my jobs, which in turn has made it rough at home. My wife feels like a single mother, and i keep telling her i am just trying to make us survive. With all the hours I work, and my knowledge I should be comfortable, right? Wrong. We are behind on everything, constantly getting services (electric, phone, internet) suspended until i lie to them and say they will get so much on a certain day and i hardly hold up my end of the deal.

Like i was saying, I feel that i have to give my all to my job. Always trying to be the best. Then I get comfortable, then normally it goes downhill from there. When i sense it getting bad i always try to step up my game, at times taking more medicine than i should, but so far things hardly end up good.

I am sure i could read the forum then post, but i wnt to share my piece. I have been with my wife for 20 years, married for 12, and am still embarassed to talk a lot. For example, today I lost my job...again and do not want to tell her because i am not wanting to come to reality and move on.

So any advice of how i can balance things better so i dont destroy my life and marriage more than i have is appreciated.

jman05
06-06-17, 08:45 AM
Hi, I am 36 years old and my whole life it has been hard for me to keep a job for a long period of time. My longest job has been about 3 1/2 years. I am an electrician and a plumber. I have been doing my trades for over 20 years.