View Full Version : Seeking honest and possible professional advice (WARNING: this is a long post)

Joey3537
06-28-17, 03:26 PM
Hi everyone, first time here and hoping to get some advice. Normally I would seek out a therapist for help, but my insurance sucks and I can't find a provider that has Psychology as primary focus... so here I am!

About me - My name is Joey (hi again! :o) I am a 26 years old male. I am a high school graduate attending a community college in California.

Medical History - I am currently on Vyvanse (50 mg) since November 2016, I have also been on Welbutrin, but stopped since taking Vyvanse. I was diagnosed with ADD after talking to a therapist for other reasons and told me to seek a doctor for medicine. (unable to talk to this therapist anymore)

PS: If you know a license Therapist who is willing to take a look at this, I would be VERY grateful.

Pre-medication conditions -

Example 1: I was unable to read a book without my eyes getting very heavy. I was unable to read and understand what I was reading. Felt like I was just saying words without meaning.

Example 2: I was unable to solve logical equations as I would often forget what I was told right when I was told. I had to right everything down and I mean everything.

Example 3: Remembering anything. Usually in one ear and out the other. I have to be told 3 or more time, or I would have to make a mistake and then figure things out by myself.

On Vyvanse -

Example 1: I can read a book and stay focused on a conversation without my eyes getting droopy. I don't get bored easily and can stay focused.

Example 2: My memory still sucks. I still can hardly remember anything anyone tells me and I can't really remember what I read.

Example 3: I still don't like to do anything that requires a lot of thinking, as I still loose interest quickly, but I'm focused regardless.

How I live my life today -