View Full Version : Tapering off Adderall for a long-time user

ilikefrenchfrie
07-04-17, 06:32 PM
To begin this post, I would like to give my background (I'm sorry this is long, but I am really trying to find someone that can maybe relate to some of my specific circumstances) If you don't feel like reading the whole thing, I will post the final paragraph here:

--------------------
The whole point of this post: I truly despise being so dependent on Adderall. I used to only have to take Adderall when I studied, was in class, or took exams. Now I am at the point where I feel like I need it to do anything. While I believe I do indeed have ADHD (I know it is over-diagnosed), I want to know if there is any possible way to either taper off of it or limit its use for only when I have big exams. I do not want to experiment with tapering off in the middle of my first semester, but between summer and fall semester I have a one month break, and would like to start looking into it. I have expressed this concern to my psychiatrist (more than one), and they just try to make me feel okay with needing to be medicated (the classic "well if you had a physical disease, you would treat it? Right?") One thing that does help my symptoms slightly is exercise, and I am very active. I want to look into other methods to help with self-motivation and focus as well, maybe even meditation (which I don't really like because I end up getting bored, but maybe I need it).

I know adults have been able to taper off, but what about adults that are still in school? Especially adults in doctorate programs?
--------------------