View Full Version : I need help ASAP!

Brian Stokes
07-21-17, 01:14 PM
I'm 16 years old and have ADHD and uses to be prescribed with Adderall and Dextroamp. Recently I stupidly decided to try dex again because my ADHD was really starting to bother me so I took 45mg of dextroamp orally and felt great... until the side effects kicked in and didn't get a second of sleep that night or the day after. My heart rate went up, my body temp goes up every now and then, I had a dry mouth, no appetite, and a little bit of a headache and I'm starting to freak myself out. This is my first time taking it in 1 1/2 years or so, someone please help me!

Little Missy
07-21-17, 03:38 PM
What is the prescribed amount you are supposed to take and how many times a day are you supposed to take it?

Little Missy
07-21-17, 03:58 PM
Eat some lunch, take a couple of aspirin and drink a couple of tall glasses of water.

It'll wear off soon and then you can discuss your dosage with your doctor if you are that uncomfortable. :)

wonderboy
07-21-17, 05:37 PM
I think you need to have your dosage re-evaluated

Brian Stokes
07-21-17, 06:05 PM
I haven't taken dextroamp in over a year. I am not prescribed Dex anymore as they moved me to 25mg of adderall. But I'm out of adderall and can't get my refill before 07/25/17. I talked with my doctor and he said taking dex is like a substitute for adderall and is a bit weaker than it's actual form so he recommended 35mg-45mg. Won't be taking that much anymore.

someothertime
07-22-17, 06:16 AM
https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/drugsatfda_docs/label/2007/017078s042lbl.pdf

Narcolepsy:
Usual dose is 5 to 60 mg per day in divided doses

General:
The least amount feasible should be prescribed or dispensed at 1 time in order to minimize the possibility of overdosage.

[snip]