View Full Version : Was I misdiagnosed with ADHD?

OBeier
07-27-17, 11:20 PM
Hello all,

First and foremost, I would like to say that I am new to the website, so I apologize if I break any unspoken traditions of the website for the way in which I post. I found this website as I was recently diagnosed with ADHD at 21 years old after I took a professional exam that ended in me having a panic attack.

I went to the psychiatrist looking for help managing anxiety as I am a college student who can never sleep the night before exams and is often paralyzed by unknown "fear" and the panic attack during the professional exam was the last straw. I left the psychiatrist office with an ADHD diagnosis and a prescription of Vyvanse.

I have been on the medication (started at 20 mg each day and now am at 40 mg each day) for about seven weeks and have been back to the psychiatrist once to check in. While the psychiatrist believes this is the right diagnosis, I cannot help but think it may not be right. Once I was diagnosed I began doing research (including reading on this forum) and while I fit many of the symptoms she discussed as well as the ones online, I just cannot see how it is possible for me to have ADHD as there are a few major things that just do not line up! As individuals who are well aware of ADHD and the notions surrounding it, I was hoping you could all help me realize if I may be misdiagnosed or if I am just having trouble understanding the diagnosis.

To help you understand why I feel like ADHD just isn't possible I have provided some background information: