View Full Version : Addressing and treating adult emotional state, first.

mildadhd
08-24-17, 06:06 PM
The adult should be aware of her emotional state when setting out to take medications for AD(H)D.

Not infrequently, the AD(H)D adult may be suffering from chronic low-grade depression or anxiety. If this is the case, the psychostimulants may not help, or in some cases may make matters worse. If depression or anxiety is present, it needs to be addressed first, or at least at the same time.

-Gabor Mate, "Scattered", Chapter: "What Medications Can And Cannot Do", p 314.

I've been treating my adult AD(H)D, with methyphenidate for about 12 years.

But I have never tried treating my adult AD(H)D, by addressing and treating my emotional state first.

This week I have decided to stop taking methyphenidate, and try treating my emotional state, first, with my Doctors' guidance.

(I may take the same medication or other types of medication again in the future. This is not a anti medication thread. I am just trying a different adult AD(H)D treatment approach, which may or may not include taking medication in the future).

Feelings appreciated.

M

Fuzzy12
08-24-17, 06:22 PM
I took antidepressants and mood stabilisers first before I was diagnosed with adhd. Maybe it is just me but the only thing that finally got my depression under control (and eventually rid of it) was stimulants.

mildadhd
08-24-17, 06:46 PM
I took antidepressants and mood stabilisers first before I was diagnosed with adhd. Maybe it is just me but the only thing that finally got my depression under control (and eventually rid of it) was stimulants.

I am adopted, and I think my AD(H)D is first a bottom up morbidity of early anxiety and early depression.

It is also possible I experience top down morbidities like anxiety and depression due to living with AD(H)D.

I think I experience both bottom up early anxiety and early depression and top down anxiety and depression.