View Full Version : Science Work Making Daughter Hate Science - Help with Strategy?

Shelsi
08-25-17, 02:41 PM
My daughter is 10 yrs old & in 5th grade. She is a born scientist - not in that she loves facts/reading about science - but in that she is always experimenting. Both her and I have ADHD & I'm a food scientist working on my masters (just grad with my B.S. in May). Needless to say I don't want her to start hating science!

This year science class is mostly reading from the book, completing the worksheets after the reading, and memorizing a bunch of vocabulary. School has only been in for 3 weeks and my daughter is already saying she hates science and crying whenever she has homework in it.

In a recent email to the teacher I brought up my concerns and said,

"I know that science this year is a lot of reading and filling out answers in the book. She is not a reader, not even of fiction unless it's read to her, and I think her hatred of reading and filling out worksheets in response is hampering her love of science. Since you know my background, I obviously understand the need for these skills, but I'd really like to problem solve with you some way we can make it tolerable for her."

The teacher's response :( :

"As far as reading, taking notes, and filling out lab sheets, I feel they are all part of science as well as doing experiments. I'm not sure how to change the curriculum to make it "tolerable".

That's literally the entire response other than saying she knows about my daughter's accommodations and will have her take tests separately. Clearly, this teacher is not going to be accommodating without me pushing for it - thankfully all the other teachers & school have been very helpful and willing to problem-solve with me for the other subjects.