View Full Version : Already hit the wall?

julyguy
08-25-17, 06:10 PM
Hello, this is my 4th day on vyvanse and days 1-3 were so calming, relaxing, and I felt so smoothed out. Today nothing. Have I hit the wall already? Is this the high people talk about? I'm on 20mg a day. Why do people bother taking stimulants if tolerance builds so quickly?

Jillybean
08-25-17, 07:28 PM
I doubt your tolerance built up in just three days. I am a newbie but I know some people go years without having to increase their dose. I also take vyvanse. I am on 50mg a day. I bet your side effects just subsided with it being such a low dose. You probably didn't even have the full effect as far as the focus it can actually give you. 20mg is a starter dose and is very low. It's good your doctor started there. Better to start low than high. Mine tried to start me at 50, he said most people have to get to at least 50 or 60. I am so glad I talked him down because I had zero amphetamine tolerance and 40 threw me for a loop for about 3 weeks. I just started it in January. I went from 40, to 50, to 60, and then back to 50. You have to find your "sweet spot". It takes time. I do not get any feeling like I am a little speeding anymore. I often don't really feel it unless I try to focus on something to see if it's working. It took me months though to get this way. I don't think my tolerance has built up rather my body has adjusted to the stimulant and it's just doing what its meant to do now, keep me focused. I do wish I had more motivation with it. That kind of comes and goes. Again, It didn't give me this calming focused effect without the loss of appetite and slight ramped up feeling for months. Now I eat fine, sleep well, and even my resting heart rate stays normal on it. Don't throw in the towel yet. It's a great medication for people that it works for. I know we are all different but it seems to do well for a lot of folks.

julyguy
08-26-17, 12:39 AM