View Full Version : Working in an Office. Hour 4 Slump...

jennywas
09-15-17, 03:08 PM
Hello addforum reader. This is my first time posting.

Here is my story:
I have been diagnosed with adult ADHD since 2012 and

believe I went undiagnosed for it during high school due to conversations I have had with mental health professionals over the last 5 years.

I have been on Vyvanse pretty much for the past 5 years on and off.

I tried adderall xr- did absolutely nothing
Tried Focalin-long time ago now, but it worked fine
and ritalin-again, 5 years ago now, but i seem to remember it working

The past year, I have been taking hte medication faithfully but
3 weeks ago I started a new job in an office (part-time, 3 days a week for 8hrs a day)

This is a big accomplishment for me and I AM proud of myself for being in a position where I can be on time, dependable, and useful.

BUT here I am, at 3:02 and I feel like since 2pm (I start work at 10 and try to take my vyvanse at 9am) I haven't been able to focus, I keep getting up to go smoke my e-cig or go to the bathroom, pick at my scalp obsessively and basically get nothing done. I want to be able to work for the full day and here I am posting on this forum.

Does anyone have any tips to help boost productivity at work? Maybe I should wait to take my medication later in the day? Anyone have success with that? Mornings are my best time of day.

Does anyone else experience a similar 4 hour slump?

I hate feeling like I am not performing at my best.

I eat granola, drink kombucha and monster energy (I can drink caffeine like crazy no problemo) and right now I want to get back to work. Please help!

Thanks!

TheGreatKing
09-15-17, 06:26 PM
hi jenny,
I dunno what to tell you , i have a similar issue here and haven't found any solution except for caffeine pills........ and that only works sometimes... i hope you get your answer your looking for. oh and i like yerba mate better :P

CharlesH
09-16-17, 03:11 PM