View Full Version : I don't think my Adderall is working for me?

holopickles
09-20-17, 05:02 PM
Hi all,

I was diagnosed with what the dr. described as "severe ADHD" a few days ago. I am a nursing student who constantly makes mistakes at school, home, work so I decided trying medication to see if I would have some relief from the debilitating symptoms. I was prescribed 20 mg of generic Adderall and long story short I haven't slept in near 2 days, I feel it has intensified my ADHD symptoms, (songs playing over and over in my mind, zoning out still when people talk, inattentive to detail my usual symptoms but worse) and I am also having a constant feeling of dread. I am starting to think maybe taking a natural approach to this so I don't feel this way. Any similar experiences from this medicine? And what helps you to find relief from your ADHD?

Swissy
09-20-17, 06:50 PM
Are you taking XR or IR? I started on a relatively low dose, 10mg IR and it was too strong. If you are taking IR it is definitely too high of a starting dose and that could explain your negative effects. Try taking 1/4 of that... if it is XR, that is like taking 2 doses of 10mg IR. It could still be too high to start with. If you can, I'd get in touch with your doctor and request a smaller starting dose. From my experience, 5mg IR was a good start.

holopickles
09-20-17, 06:59 PM
It's XR

Lunacie
09-20-17, 07:42 PM
Some find that Adderall ramps them up to much and Ritalin works better.
Some find that Ritalin zombifies them and Adderall works better.

I was lucky that Omega 3 fish oil supplement cleared much of my brain fog
even before I was diagnosed. I'm not the only one who has found it to help.
Might be worth a try. It does cause fish burps for some people.

holopickles
09-20-17, 08:11 PM