View Full Version : Diagnosis in the UK

Jammy
07-28-05, 10:12 AM
Firstly hello to everyone here, i'm a newbie, lol. I'm Amelia, i'm 18 years old and I live in London.

For all of my life i've been in trouble at school and been made to feel completely alone. As a young child my mum took me to the docors believed I had ADHD but the doctor did not pursue it. I now notice it isn't just me who has had difficulty in recieving diagnosis.

After feeling set to fail my final year of free education, I broke down and told mum how i was feeling. She took me to a doctor who then referred me to a psychiatrist.

I am currently waiting to be assessed at Maudsley Hospital in London.

I was wondering if anyone here had been diagnosed at Maudsley and if they could possibly tell me what to expect.

Thank you,
Amelia.

Toby
07-28-05, 10:34 AM
Hey Amelia, welcome :D

I can empathise with your situation. I had similar problems at school, whcih left me isolated.

I was diagnosed at blackheath hospital, which isn't a million miles away from Maudsley. A lot of doctors tend to work at multiple hospitals, so you could well be seeing the same guy who diagnosed me.

Basically the diagnosis just involves a discussion with the psychiatrist about what ADD is and what the symptoms are, and discuss whether your experiences match the symptoms that he's talking about. At the end theres a few questionaires to fill in which help him reach a diagnosis. It's all very informal and painfree

If you want to talk, or have any questions, just ask :)

Jammy
07-28-05, 03:18 PM
Thank you Toby.

I only just discovered this site today and it amazes me how friendly and helpful everyone seems to be. I feel less isolated already, just knowing i'm not 'stupid' or 'lazy' and that there are people like me.

The psychiatrist in Lewisham today said they would want to interview both me and my parents which seems a little intimidating. But hopefuly it's all forward from here on, lol.

Thanks again :)
Amelia.

Jammy