View Full Version : Website Layout

SassyVal
10-25-05, 04:01 PM
Hi All~

I am a webdesigner by trade and I am wondering if all y'all would be willing to help me out.

I know that some websites are just "too much" for me to handle because of how busy they are and I don't want to be a person that designs that way. I was hoping you all could give me ideas of some site layouts and components that really help you stay focused while on a site. I hope this makes sense.

I would like to be able to use your suggestions when I lay out pages and then back it up if a client has a differing idea or wants to make the page way busy.

So...
Elements that help (ie. navigation)
Colors that are definite no-no's
anyting else you can suggest

I really appreciate any and all feedback!
Thanks In Advance~

Crybaby1898
10-25-05, 04:09 PM
okay you want to know what help me the most is what called the forum jump. it takes you to any subforum that you want!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

UnleashTheHound
10-25-05, 04:25 PM
I looked at your samples, and they mostly work for me.

In general...
If the site has a search feature, it should be easy to find. And it should work :). It's amazing how many sites search engines don't properly find documents that are on the site.

Fonts- Not small, not huge (around 12pt or so). No long paragraphs. I like how you have a heading between every few paragraphs in your samples. That makes it easy to follow.

Pages with too many navigational elements can be overwhelming. Pages with too few convey the impression that there's not much content on the site, and people may browse elsewhere.

Avoid cutting-edge plugins. For example, don't use the latest version of Flash that just came out. I avoid sites that force you to upgrade something. If they've been out awhile, then fine, since most people have upgraded already.

That's all I can think of for now...

Crybaby1898
10-25-05, 04:29 PM
i wanted to give you a complient! very good samples

HighFunctioning
10-25-05, 04:42 PM