View Full Version : ADD teachers

oopsiforgot
02-25-06, 10:48 AM
I'm a first grade teacher with ADD. I'm looking for advice on classroom management and organization. I don't have a lot of planning time, so I get backed up very quickly (grading papers, filing, etc.). :( My instruction time is efficient, but my "me" time is chaotic. I only have about 40 minutes of planning each day, and I waste precious time just wondering where to begin. :confused:

Thanks in advance for your help. :)

chloe516
03-04-06, 10:29 PM
I have this same problem! I am a second grade teacher.

In the primary grades, I don't think that grading all work is important, it is more about observing the children, so I don't worry about grading papers. I just check to see that they have finished classwork and I walk around and give them a sticker as they work, so parents can see that I have looked at it. I am a HUGE stickler about modeling, I can't learn without it so I don't teach children without it. We do a lot of work whole class and I have the kids write DT at the top for Done Together. I try not to do too much that requires grading for a couple of reasons. 1. I think they are just too young for that. and 2. I can't keep up with it. I have a section of my board where we write who needs to finish work, I don't like posting names for everyone to see, but if I don't nobody remembers!

I also bought a children's pocketbook which I wear during the day. (Luckily as a second grade teacher I can get away with it!) I keep tickets in it (they can earn tickets for good behavior and we have a raffle on Fridays), a small notebook, and a compact pen. This way I have a pad of paper and pen with me at all times and I can write down things as I remember and not have to walk around or look for something to write with!

What other advice are you looking for? I will be glad to help if I can. Maybe we can bounce ideas off each other!