View Full Version : where to turn next

jess
02-25-06, 05:55 PM
Hi there,
Hoping any one can shed a bit of light on a couple of things for me.
1) as you will see i come from the uk well i live on a small island off uk, anyways the point in this info is that after knowing in my gut that my kids were adhd they are noe almost twelve. I have had them assesed for adhd at four
diagnosis was . Mother neets parenting lessons. Well i am a nursery nurse i worked with special needs kis and in main stream. But fine not a prob give us the tips ill gladly take some !! Secondly when they started school at 4 half soon i realised dyslexia could be an issue too. And again no teachers said no no . Ok
well by 7 half got a positive diagnosis for that. I frustrated big time by this point . Questioned adhd again ed psyc said no.

New ed pshy report done 10 yrs 6 mths again no to adhd. ( behavoiur in all areas getting worse)

Finally after feeling this is it persued a fantastic neuro care centre in uk. Have now got diagnosi of child 1 moderat adhd with dyslexia
child 2 moderate adhd mild dyslexia tics ocd.
I spoke also to a previous teacheer of my childrens and when asked if she had ever had a suspicion admitted yes. I want to know why it is that thes people whome parents look up to and place trust in can over look telling and informing of a concern such as this where to omit such a detail can have in my experience have such an enormous detrimental effect in all areas of a childs life and view of the world.
The place where i live will not take on my kids care unless i in effect sever all ties with the uk based centre, where i have found support and hope and a trust after searching and begging for help for years.

Whoops not such a quick question after all !!! Oh did i forgeet to say i have also just been diagnosed from the sam place as high iq and severe adhd.