View Full Version : "Normal" life possible w/ BP - ADD??

Crazed
03-03-06, 12:05 PM
Hello everyone, am a newbie here. I have read a lot of entries and have gathered great info. I have been just diagnosed with BP-ADD, something that
has been very apparent in the past few years. Been in treatment for addiction
to painkillers (they allowed me to focus adn function). With my brain being clear
I tried SSRI's -- useless. I could not figure out why some weeks I was full of
energy, on top of the world -- others unable to get out of bed, in the darkest of
places. Troubles with jobs, relationships, helping raise daughters. Totally inconsistent. After my own personal worst depression in Feb, talk about wanting
to die everyday for a week, I went to a great pdoc.She really listened which was a first. My cocktail is Lamictal/Neurontin/Adderall. Been on these for 17 days, I know I will not be to a normal range of Lamictal until 100 mgs. I feel
balanced, the mania has disappeared. I wonder if I will ever be able to live a
healthy/happy life, being productive and contribute to society, my daughters,
marriage, life in general --- is that at all possible?? I have felt like such a burden, a charity case, like life has passed me by in my 33 years on this earth.
Thanks for reading...

Lori

Andi
03-04-06, 10:18 AM
Welcome to the forums...so glad you're here :)

I more than understand how you feel and let me assure you that YES!!!, you CAN and you WILL lead a productive life as you long as you seek it for yourself. Understand that it will take time. The average recovery after a bipolar episode is two years...some longer, some shorter, so don't beat yourself up if it doesn't happen over night but with time, hard work, and patience you WILL get there. Go with the flow. Accept the process and seek treatment. Time IS precious, therapy is key to help you through this time.