View Full Version : Help! I feel like a Zombie! Switched from AdderallXR to Concerta

presson6
03-16-06, 03:24 PM
Hello. This is my first time posting & I'm hoping for some suggestions. I've been taking Adderall XR (30mg) for around 8 to 10 months. It worked wonders in the beginning & then began to lose its effectiveness. With the cost being 120.00 a month for 30 pills, I could not afford to double the dose. My doctor put me on Concerta 54mg. I've taken this for 3 days now, & feel like I could just stay on the couch forever. My mind is totally spaced out, lazy, & just a complete fog. I have no energy or drive to do anything whatsoever. :faint: I think it must be the different chemicals & feel that a Ritalin based pill is possibly just not for me. Should I have switched to something else more similar to adderall :confused: ?? What is stronger then Adderall XR, but not in the ritalin group of meds? Also, cost IS an isssue, since I have no insurance. Thanks for your help:o !

sloppitty-sue
03-16-06, 10:28 PM
Hi there,

Geez, here's the SECOND post I'm answering saying, "Sorry I can't answer your SPECIFIC questions." Sorry, really. BUT - just wanted to validate your experience. THEY ARE very different meds, aren't they? You COULD try these out for a while longer (2 weeks total), but if you are CERTAIN that you prefer the Adderall-type med, I believe that Adderal XR is THE most expensive type of that drug.

Perhaps it's possible to SEARCH this site for "Adderall XR" and "Adderall IR" to call up the post I remember reading here that talked about how the "other" Adderall (not XR)? was cheaper?? Plus, I know that Dexedrine is similar, and I believe THAT comes in a generic and can be cheaper as well. Maybe check out the Adderall Forum!

I think you can find the info you want by searching through some of the prior Adderall Threads (like 2-week-old or so). AND - YES, I felt that Concerta and Adderall gave me very different results as well.

Best of luck!

Sue

presson6