View Full Version : Trileptal for Adult ADD & depression?

reachthesky
03-23-06, 04:21 AM
I am a 23-yr/old male college student and just recently had two visits with a psychiatrist to see if I have adult ADD and some issues with depression. I know for a fact that I am a prime candidate for ADD as I fit many of the symptoms.. had just put it off for way too long. This was my first time with a psychiatrist. Recently, since separating from the military and moving to school, I have fallen into depression. I don't have many close friends and find myself in a rutt, on and off all day, everyday. I just can't get motivated or up for anything.. at first I could deal with it but at this point it's starting to take over my life.

After two visits with my doctor I was prescribed 450mg of Trileptal, twice a day. I am only on my second day of medication so it will take a while for it to set in. I was surprised to find out that Trileptal is for epilepsy and seizures as I have never experienced anything like that. It is a 'mood stabilizer' but will that help ADD symptoms? I think I had just expected to get on two drugs (ie. Aderall and an anti-depressant). I just hope I was prescribed this to kill two birds with one stone; however, I'm very nervous that I have been given a faulty diagnosis. From what I have read, this drug is in it's 'experimental phase' with things such as bipolar depression.

Does anyone have any knowledge or past experience with Trileptal? Is Trileptal OK for a combination of ADD/depression? Any advice would help as I have yet to find any solid information on this...

Thank you,
Michael

:confused::confused::confused:

DianeS
03-23-06, 03:28 PM
I can tell you my husband's experience:

He has been diagnosed with depression and ADHD (primarially inattentive). He takes Lexapro and Concerta. I recently accompanied him to a medication appointment and gave the doctor information that showed my husband may be bi-polar, instead of simply depressed.