View Full Version : To those ADDers who are sales representatives: Important Questions

UCS1932
05-28-06, 07:59 PM
I used to work part time in retail sales while I was in college. I have just recently graduated from college and I have always liked selling and was considering being a sales representative because it is an ADD friendly job.

I realize that even for non-ADDers, you should always believe in the product you are selling, but wouldnt being a sales representative be bad for someone with ADD because of the enormous pressure you are under to meet quotas and deadlines? Or, is it not as bad as it seems since you're provided leads?

Also, many ADDers have difficulty with monotonous careers (where sales is not), where you do the same thing over and over, but wouldnt having each day different be counterproductive to someone with ADD because ADDers have difficulty with adapting to change?? I know from personal experience, that when things change, I often have difficulty adapting.

CdnJulie
06-06-06, 09:54 AM
I do Pampered Chef and there is a minimum required and that is basically one show per two months-easily achievable.

The basics on doing the shows are the same but exciting with the different people you meet. Changes aren't huge with the company.

Take a look. There are several sales companies where you are the boss and find the one that you feel you fit in with the product. I love cooking/baking and socializing so it was perfect for me. Others love make-up, environment issues etc.

Good luck.

cameron
06-06-06, 12:59 PM
I used to be in Sales and hated it. I just don't have that type of personality, where you have to be fairly aggressive(asking for orders, constantly talking with people, etc). For the ADHD types, sales is a good job. I think it all depends on your personality. If your a people person, you will probably do well in sales. Like you said, believing in your product is very important. YOu have to have motivation.

susane
06-07-06, 10:20 AM