View Full Version : Symptoms of ADD? or just poor self-discipline?

robynne
06-02-06, 10:42 AM
Hi, I'm 20 years old and I am studying at university. I have a suspect feeling that I may have add but i just want some feedback from others before I see a doctor.

This is a short list of what my issues are (in order of frustration):

1. Disorganisation
No matter how hard i try i cannot organise myself. Its really everything I touch. That includes my room, my handbags, my uni work, random pieces of paper. I constantly lose things, forget to mail things, leave things to the very last minute. I've always been like this and used to think that everyone was but now as i grow older i realise i have the same organisation skills (or lack thereof) as i did when i was 9.

And also my MIND is so everywhere at once i feel like I can't keep up with it. (I often talk outloud to walk myself through things systematically). It makes it very difficult to articulate my thoughts in a coherent manner particularly when attempting to write essays. Although i understand things i always overcomplicate them so much that can't put my thoughts down on paper.

2. Procrastination
I guess this is in part due to the above. A lot of the time things seem so daunting I put them off to the very last minute and I just seem to have no regard for what consequences this might have. I do happen to get distracted by just about everything, which doesn't really help. For instance, I'll go down to Woolworths to buy some soap and I'll end up spending 2 hours there just going looking at one product which will remind me of a recipe so i will then hunt for the ingredients which will remind me of a new product i read about...etc

3. Inattentiveness