View Full Version : High Startle Reflex Anyone?

Effie
07-10-06, 03:32 PM
Hello everyone, newbie here. While reading the article AD/HD and Hypersensitivities: The Princess and the Pea Syndrome, the author says that before she was diagnosed with ADD she thought she was the only one who had an exaggerated startle response to the slightest noise, her example "a sneeze from the back of a restaurant could cause me to jump a foot straight up from my chair." I read that and thought "that is me!" I was wondering if anyone else has this problem, I tried to find more information on the internet but was unsuccessful. It is soo embarrassing and I would love to know if anyone else has this problem and what they do to control it, if they do anything at all.

SB_UK
07-10-06, 04:05 PM
Hi -this may help --- ADDers and sensitivity to sound (http://www.addforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12155) --- Andrew points at the existence of other threads ... answer - 'yes' ... by the way ... one of the first things I wanted to know too ... relating to ADD ... when I first found out about the condition ... myself, personally ... I have been hypersensitized, hyoersensitive to any form of loud bang --- firework, balloon bursting ... been like this since three years old ... terrible apprehension when it comes to sudden loud noises ... and the noise itself makes my head explode --- true pain ... feels like the mind cramping ... !

SB.

lovemytiel
07-10-06, 04:51 PM
I have the same problem...it is kind of embarassing actually.

Boots
07-10-06, 05:10 PM
yeah me too.

happycat
07-10-06, 05:15 PM
Same here--not just to sound, but also to someone innocently coming from behind a tapping my shoulder--I've "attacked" more people than I care to count. I have no idea how to curb this responce, because frankly, it looks bizarre, or even like I'm trying to seek attention (becaue the best way to get people to notice you is to look like an idiot, right?;))