View Full Version : Coaching a 7 year old with ADHD

KFabulous
09-11-06, 10:04 PM
Hi Everyone! I have been a Figure Skating Instructor for almost 8 years now. I love working with children. I have one student who is quite talented but she can't focus very well. I have ADD as well, so I am very understanding. I noticed it when she was about 5, and kept telling the parents that she should be tested for ADHD. They looked at me like I was an idiot and rediculous for even bringing it up. Two years later, they finally decided to take her to a psychologist to have her evaluated.

The problem is is that her parents don't want her taking medication. They have her on some pine tree herb to help her focus. It seems to work a little bit but I really think that she should be on a low dose of psychostimulant. I am no professional, but well researched on the subject. I can understand the concern for their daughters health. I just want her to be the best little skater she can be before it's too late.

This is a really sensitive subject and I would like some input. Any sugestions would be great!

FrazzleDazzle
09-11-06, 10:40 PM
I wonder if they have her on the pycnogenol. It is showing some promise for attention. It is really very difficult to make mention of these delicate issues like the one you are in with your student. It takes sometimes many seeds to grow a tree of realization, and you did plant! I wonder if the best advise you can give, is to share, if you have not already, any medication you are on yourself and how much of a difference it has made. Maybe pass along this website to her parents so they know they are not so alone, and can get some different ideas. Those are my thoughts. Best of luck, and I applaud you for making such a difference in a talented young person's life! :-)

KFabulous
09-11-06, 10:59 PM