View Full Version : From Adderall XR to New Daytrana Patch

mjsouth
09-13-06, 07:06 PM
It's been quite some time since I've posted, but have been reading all the posts everyday. Thanks to all for advice, opinions, etc.

My 10-yr old was switched yesterday from Adderall 5 mg (xr) to the new Daytrana patch. He had taken a "holiday" all summer from a much higher dose of the Adderall and we decided to start school with the 5mg. This school year has been much more difficult, not just because of the lower dose, I think; but also due to the fact he is in 4th grade, and it seems the load is too much for him. His teacher describes him as very intelligent, good boy; but just severely absentminded, not-focused, etc, you know the drill.

So, he will start his patch for the first time tomorrow. My question is with the new patch. I can't find a lot on the internet, including this board, on the patch, other than the promotional, company-FDA-product information. I'm a nurse and drug rep, so the clinical-pharma stuff I'm very familiar with. I like to hear the real-world experience with drugs to get the truth about how they work.

Has anyone out there tried this yet? If not, then this patch is basically methylphenidate-Ritalin, so has anyone had experience switching from Adderall XR to say, Ritalin or Concerta? I greatly appreciate your help!!!!

D.B. Cooper
09-13-06, 11:00 PM
Its just ritalin on a transdermal patch, the only difference is its delivery system. Actually it *may* be focalin but focalin is basically ritalin with the Levo isomer taken out. Either way the experiance wont be much different than any of the numerous extended release pills of ritalin. Its really really new in patch form but the medication its self is a tried and true med thats been used for children with add for many years.

The whole ritalin vs adderal/d-amphetamine thing basically boils down to personal preference. Everyone has their own likes and dislikes when it comes to the meds.

mjsouth