View Full Version : a bit nervous and confused before some testing

perineld
09-26-06, 09:34 PM
i'm a college student and, to make a really long story short, i'm pretty sure i have ADHD. (even if i don't, i'd like to get to the bottom of this.)

my school's counseling center referred me to the school's "psychological testing training center", who i called. they got some of my information, asked me a few questions about why i wanted testing and stuff, and told me that testing would be three or four sessions long, starting with an intake interview of sorts, which i have tomorrow. also, my testing will be done by grad students (all testing will be supervised by actual doctors, and all results signed off by actual doctors). cost is on a sliding scale and they told me it would probably be $500 for me.

considering this'll be 3-4 sessions, what might i expect?

furthermore, they asked me to bring in old report cards and my high school transcript. i can't get a hold of the old report cards and i totally forgot to get my high school transcript. also, while i had a lot of trouble with school when i was younger, i managed to coast with good grades, so these things don't really have "student can't focus" comments all over them or anything. my dad also doesn't know much of anything about my educational history. basically all i have to prove that i had trouble in school when i was younger is my word. i know you can't be diagnosed with ADHD as an adult without proof that there were problems during childhood so will my lack of tangible evidence screw me over? i'm kind of confused about this and it makes me wonder if paying $500 for testing is worth it if i can't find old report cards that won't make much of a difference anyway.

basically what i'm saying there is that i know it's possible i don't have ADHD but i don't want all the testing to point to ADHD only to hear i can't possibly have it because i got good grades as a child. could that even happen?