View Full Version : Anxiety-Job Offer-Scared

pittguy578
10-12-06, 07:27 PM
I think people have read the problems I have been having at work
I have hate my job
I got a job offer for a new company doing inside sales. I received the offer today. I have never sold before. I interviewed really well, and when I left the company after interviewing the last time, I felt really good about the company and the job, but now that I finally have the offer, I am having a panic attack.
I am thinking "what if I am not good at selling" I will have left the job I have now and have nothing if I fail. I work for a fortune 200 company now, but in a position I don't like. I don't know what is wrong. I have all of a sudden gotten a major panic attack:(

VisualImagery
10-12-06, 08:05 PM
Pittguy,

I know how you feel! When I was to start grad school, the same thing happened to me-I was panicky, breathless, heart palpitations, and felt like throwing up for days! I think that after a pattern of failure or waiting to do something we waited to do for years, those of us with ADD doubt our abilities and wonder if we will fail! If you are older like I am, you have several decades of such feelings-making it even tougher I think. Self-concept is how you see yourself, self-esteem is how you feel about yourself. Both of these are affected by living with untreated ADD for many years. We "hear" the past, and it seems come back at the worst times-When we are experiencing good things in our lives.

When I started my first and second teaching jobs, I worried the entire time that I was not good enough, was doing things wrong, did not work hard enough, every mistake I made was a horrible failure, and so on. Other people helped me put it in perspective. Funny though, as I look for another teaching job, the same thoughts haunt me. They are not as bad anymore, but still they are there. I have to play positive statements in my head and go to friends for support. Counseling has been a big help too!