View Full Version : Introducing Myself -- Chris from Vancouver

Keldryn
10-16-06, 06:27 PM
Hello, my name is Chris, and I'm new to these forums. I am 32 years of age, I live in Vancouver (Burnaby), I am a software programmer, and I was recently married this July.

There isn't any brief way to tell why and how I ended up here, so please bear with me...

My mind was first opened up to the possibility of ADHD early last year (2005). I visited my doctor with complaints about very low levels of energy, difficulty in getting motivated, unstable moods, sleep disturbances, and difficulty in concentrating -- to the point where I was spending about 80% of my time at work pretending to look busy because I just couldn't focus. On most days, I would feels as though this thick mental fog was obscuring everything.

None of these symptoms were new, and are difficulties I've been struggling with all of my adult life, with only very short breaks. I'd been on and off various SSRIs several times over the previous 10-12 years, as well as having attended a sleep disorder clinic (after two nights, they reported that my observable sleep patterns were normal and healthy). And I have an embarassingly consistent history of not finishing long-term projects that I take on. I frequently over-commit myself and taken on new tasks with great enthusiasm, only to inevitably fizzle out and not be able to meet my committments because I just can't focus on what I'm supposed to be doing. I have earned what I feel is a very unfair reputation for being unreliable and late for everything. it feels unfair because I am always trying very hard to be somewhere on time or to get something done, and it actually makes me very angry when people think of me as being unreliable because it isn't how I see my true self.