View Full Version : I Am So Scared

raspberryrum30
10-22-06, 05:48 AM
:( hi add teachers i am currently in collge studying to be a teacher myself and i am very close to doing my student teaching and i am afraid that i am going to mess up. i am afraid that because of my condition that i will be the worse teacher in the world and that all of my schooling was for nothing. i feel in my heart that i am ment to teach but i am just so scared. i am so scared that this add is going to mess me up

plus i am not very good at job interviews and this worries me to

Imnapl
10-22-06, 11:58 AM
It is normal to be "scared" about student teaching. Your heart is in the right place and some of the best teachers in the world have ADHD. Re: job interviews: you can get coaching for that.

WonderLand
10-22-06, 02:43 PM
If anything, I think it might make you a teacher...And schooling is neever for nothing -- always keep trying.
I'm taking teaching as a profession and have a job as a group leader to 20 1rst graders at an After School Program.I used to be nervous, but I caught on.
You can do it! :-)
~Wonderland

VisualImagery
10-23-06, 01:01 AM
Raspberry...,

Welcome to the teacher insecurity club! I feel the same way too. But know I am a good teacher. I am looking for my next job and really wrestling with how to write my cover letter. My credentials are super, but I am not like most teachers. That is not good or bad-it is finding a school that is the right fit for me! ADD is an advantage for me (other than the paperwork!) I can connect with the kids and relate to their struggles. Plus, I have seen a lot of teachers with ADD who are usually some of the most creative, enjoyable, and well liked teachers in the school! Remember that! :D Students always know if you care about them as real people! That makes all the difference in your ability to teach them!