View Full Version : Telling my parents what goes on in my therapy sessions

inspired101.200
10-28-06, 05:56 PM
I've been going to a counselor for the last few months, and was only recently (last month or so) diagnosed as ADD. I'm a college student (21 years old) living at home, so it's easy for my parents to ask what I talk about in therapy. Initially I just told them what I was comfortable telling them, but lately they've been asking more and more questions and I've started to feel guilty about not giving them all the information. I'd like to "lay down the law" and tell them to stop asking, but I guess I'm not sure how to do it tactfully, or really if it's a good idea to "lay down the law" at all. Thoughts?

Jax

speedo
10-28-06, 06:43 PM
You probably don't need to lay down the law, so to speak, but you could kindly tell your parents that you love them, but that the information is personal enough that you don't feel comfortable talking about it in great detail.

ME :D

VisualImagery
10-28-06, 07:12 PM
Hey,

they won't tell a parent what an underage child says in counseling unless it is ok with the child or if the child is threatening to harm self or others. Especially if it is a HS student. They have the right to confidentiality! So do you, especially at 21! Just tell your parents thank you for caring so much, but the sessions are confidential and you will talk about things when you are ready and only if you need to discuss an issue with them. Are they insisting you tell them or just wanting to know? You could have your counselor call them too-but since you are an adult-they might not. Your parents cannot access your medical records by law! Unless you give them permission.

I was informed from the beginning that the counselor would not share what was said in sessions unless....there were specific conditions for that.

RADD

lbawd
10-28-06, 10:24 PM