View Full Version : 10mg and 15mg - what's the difference?

livo
11-15-06, 02:17 PM
Hey!

My doctor perscribed 3 meds for me - Dexedrine 5mg, Adderall XR 10mg and Adderall XR 15mg. He just wanted to give me some options. I've been taking dexedrine which is very beneficial, but it only lasts for 4 hours. (which can be a good thing!) Adderall was perscribed to me just in case I don't want to pop a pill every 4 hours, which can be annoying.

I just can't remember what he said about the difference between 10mg and 15mg. I tried calling, but he's away for a few days. This is my first time on adderall, and I already popped a 15mg pill this morning. (It's working really well so far!)

The only 2 things that come to mind about why I should take 10mg instead of 15mg would be exercise and acting. Exercise may require taking a lower dose in some cases... Now the acting thing - I explained to my doctor that in rehearsal (to test it out) I took 1 1/2 pills of dexedrine and my listening, organization and what have you improved, but I felt my acting was worse. (I was hyped up!) I later explained that I took just 1 dex pill on a later date when I was running lines with the cast, and I felt much better. (If I'm actually performing, I'm all ADHD-ME which works best!)

So, I THINK my doctor means for me to take 10mg on a day when I'd be acting and 15mg for plain :faint: work:faint: days, because acting increases levels of adrenaline and therefore, I could get away with a lower dose.

Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

ADD-I_Dad
11-15-06, 02:37 PM
These combinations could allow you to titrate up at 5mg increments if needed. :eyebrow:

Are both the 10 and 15mg Adderall XR or IR?

special
11-16-06, 03:24 AM
Yeah, although the doc would be the best person to discuss this with, just try a couple of days on each one and note the differences. Then just pick out which ones work best for you on which days.

netsavy006
11-16-06, 10:58 AM