View Full Version : Any Advice?

Conscience
12-03-06, 11:41 PM
Well here's me, and my story (if you get bored reading it you can just skip all the way to the bottom for the main question) I'm a junior in highschool and all throughout it I've had friends telling me or asking me if I was ADD, and I've been thinking about it for awhile and came to the conclusion that I might, this is why; I always procrastinate homework, do all projects and papers last minute, if I have to read a boring school book it takes me forever becuase I get bored after a few pages and the last time I studied for a test the night before (meaning not in the class before the test I have to take) was the end of last year for a bio exam. I'm also easily distracted and have a short attention span. Sometimes, if my friends take to long to explain things I just stop paying attention or need to get the to repeat themselves. I also fidget in class, usually twirling the end of my eraser and thus usally drop my eraser or my pencil. Finnally, when I drive I tend to speed because I get bored just poking along and when I took the back way home one day I got so bored that I felt the urge to swearve along the road just for the hell of it.

However, I told my sister that I thought I had ADD and she just yelled at me to stop making excuses, these are her reasons that I don't have ADD; I do well on all standerdized tests, generally scoring in the high 90th percentiles, I do well in all normal tests too, for just regular classes. I can read books (if I'm interested in them) for hours on end, I generally get A's or B's in all of my classes and I take hard courses, APs and Honors. I also like to write, I like to start stories and have gotten as far as 50ish pages into them before I loose interest. She says that I'm just using the possiblity of having ADD as an excuse becuase I've been doing more poorly in classes because I don't do much homework.