View Full Version : The whole process...

Freeway3137
12-05-06, 01:36 AM
Quick introduction of myself, Im Collin and Im a college student.

Well anyways, I have trouble focusing in class (we all do right? lol), not studying and what not.

Long story short, a friend told me about Adderall, gave me a pill to study with and it worked like a champ. Got a good test grade today and all in all am happy.

Now what I am asking is what is the whole process to get diagnosed/prescribed?

Sorry, this has probably been asked many times.

Thanks.

ADD-I_Dad
12-05-06, 01:33 PM
The first thing you want to do is get an appointment with Psychologist or clinical social worker who is up to date on ADHD and is able to diagnose it. They will go through a series of questions about your history to determine the symptoms and the type of ADHD that you have...or any other conditions that may also be present. Depending on the diagnosis you will be refered to a Psyciatrist for confirmation and discuss a treatment plan (psychotherapy and medication). Medication helps the symptoms but there's also the behavioral/habit stuff that has developed over time that you will want to work out with a psychologist, social worker or ADHD coach.

There's plenty of good books out there on the subject. If you can't focus that long on a book like some of us :D you may want to look into audio books. Personnaly I liked "Delivered from Distraction" by Ed Hallowell. It is a good book which gives you details of the process of diagnosis, the different types of ADHD, testing criteria and treatment options. There is also some good case studies of people he has treated. He also talks about all the positive traits of being ADHD!

Oh... where you are a college student you may not want to mention the trying someone elses Adderall thing :cool:... Stimulant abuse is a big concern in colleges and doctors are a bit sensitive about perscribing to college age students. IMHO.