View Full Version : Supporting Forum Members with Dyslexia

VisualImagery
12-05-06, 10:00 PM
Hi everyone!

I want to thank and applaud every forum member who has dyslexia and ADD! Dyslexia is tremendously disabling, in academic and work settings. I have a friend getting a PhD in Anthro who has severe dyslexia. He is brilliant like all of you with dyslexia are. Words and spelling are not an indicator of intelligence or academic ability. I bet if you met and talked to fellow members with dyslexia, you would see them in a very different way from their posts. Words are so hard for them. I know from their own statements about their disabilities that seek, and Dorm, and meadd83 have ADD and Dyslexia.

When you read their posts or writing from anyone with Dyslexia here are some suggestions and insights:

Learn about Dyslexia Kids Health on Dyslexia (http://www.kidshealth.org/kid/health_problems/learning_problem/dyslexia.html) Easy read with examples of what words look like to people with dyslexia
Be compassionate and understanding.
Don't correct misspellings or other Dyslexic writing problems
Accept the person unconditionally
Be thankful that person sacrificed so much time to write that post
Thank them for caring and giving so much of themselves to help you or others.
Don't judge their intelligence or other abilities by their writing and spelling, they are so much more than what you see on paper!
Try to see the person behind the words, they are wonderful, giving, loving people who struggle with two disorders, perhaps more.
You all really rock for doing what you do on this forum. I know in a small way how much each of you struggles to write each post. I see each post a person with dyslexia makes as a gift and a sacrifice. This is my rant, my rave about them, and kudos to my Dyslexic friends for not giving up and working so hard despite a world that does not often understand!

RADD

Crazy~Feet
12-05-06, 10:29 PM