View Full Version : Catch-22

blueclad1
03-19-07, 12:05 PM
I am a Customer Service Manager at a campus bookstore. It is a multitaskers dream...but my nightmare. Not only do I find it challenging and frustrating keeping up with the myriad of tasks for which I am responsible, it's also something I just don't enjoy doing.

I found my way to this job (and away from my preferred career: teaching animation to kids) after fighting debilitating depression and anxiety. Right around the time I started this job I discovered that my dysthymic depression and anxiety was actually undiagnosed, untreated ADD.

Here's the Catch-22: In order to get out of my current job and into my preferred field, I need to focus and stay motivated on a series of tasks (writing emails, proposals, etc.)...and yet I find it nearly impossible to stay deeply focused enough to get anything done. Yesterday I spent a few hours on this and got so overwhelmed with everything I had to get done, that every few minutes I was turning my attention to something else...and nothing was getting done. I feel like I could use an assistant to shadow me and make sure I do not get overwhelmed. I can't even write an email or cover letter anymore without getting drawn away or completely frustrated and dejected.

The world just doesn't feel hopeful when I get that way. Is there any way out of this Catch-22? Can anyone relate?

amythyst
03-19-07, 02:16 PM