View Full Version : advise with bipolar & ADD drugs

wizz95
03-23-07, 03:32 PM
Hi all, im glad to join and share this wonderful forums, I am 39 yrs old. And I believe that I and all of you’s got a wonderful gift referred to as ADD, I am unique in ways I feel excited thinking about. I was diagnosed bipolar 4 years ago. I’m now and for the last 1.5 years stabilized on 150 of lamictal & 1000 Sodium Valproate, in parallel I am ADD and did not get any treatment for it, i am a student now and struggling with lots of study difficulties, went to get treatment and my psychiatrist put me on Ritalin (Methylphenidate), at first it did not effect but than she started experimenting and changed types and doses to Ritalin SR and Concerta, but in all of them I felt a sever anxiety, some not long after taking them and some at the point they start they’re descent. I have not had anxiety in years and that hurts, the thing is that under the Ritalin SR I felt concentrated and at ease and was able to study and at that specific exam got top score (100 of 100). we do not have doctors who specialize in ADD.
my truth is that I want the right combo of the two (bipolar + add drugs) so I can study, be in focus in all I do and maybe even have fun :)
I would be glad if can you share your thoughts with me.
thanx

justhope
03-23-07, 04:54 PM
Welcome Wizz...

Well I am BPDII as well. I have tried many combo's of ADD meds, and the best one for my ADD was Adderall XR. However after getting BPDII diagnoses the higher doses (40mg) caused me to go into hypomania....so I had to stop it and wait until I leveled out on the Lamictal. then I went back on and dropped my dosage to 20mg. I still struggle sometimes with concentration etc, because even a good mix of meds doesn't cure it all, sometimes you just have to learn your liimits, and self discipline.

Again, welcome and we are glad you found us, if you want go over to the New memeber intro's and give the others a intro!

Take care!

jkron
03-30-07, 07:33 AM