View Full Version : Adderall and self-control

piglet
04-02-07, 08:06 PM
I had a learning experience I'd like to share.
I've been on Adderall about two months now, and it is doing great things for the bulimia. It helps me DECIDE what I want to do, rather than fall into the grip of a compulsion that I don't question until after self-medicating with a binge/purge.
I'm a critical care nurse, work nights, three times a week; with the irregular schedule, I use IR, 5 or 10 mg at a time. I've gotten in the habit of taking 5 mg at about 4 am on nights when I'm working, so I have a bit of help for the last busy couple of hours of my shift... it's always hectic then, tying up the loose ends, adding up my numbers, closing my charting. And then when I get home I'm able to feel more in control, and don't overeat as an unthinking stress reliever.
So last night was an awful night. I had one, very very sick patient, a young lady who had been sick fora long time; a very busy patient, indeed, lots of IV lines, and needing lots of physical care; she had a very large family, all of them there all night, like 20 people in and out, in bunches.
So in addition to the mental and physical tasks of caring for this girl, I had to answer many, many questions all night; each person might have several reasonable questions, but add it up, from each person, and it means, constant interruptions.
And having to work around the obstacle course the bodies filling the room presented made the whole night harder; I could have sent them out but it would have been unkind, really; this girl was dying and they wanted to be with her at the end.
And phone calls galore from other departments, like the lab asking some trivial stuff; anyway, a very unADD-friendly night.
I did very well, and kept it together; I was able to be a comfort to this family as the girl passed away at the end of my shift.