View Full Version : Desoxyn...Huh?

emo537
06-02-07, 01:45 AM
I just recently started working in an Eckerd Pharmacy where I am training to become a Pharmacy Technician...It's a good job without having to earn a degree and such. I'm a college student.

I checked the CII binder at work, located on the counter near the locked controlled substance cabinet, to see what Schedule 2 drugs were there. Well, I saw lots of opiates...obviously. I saw a bunch of ADHD stimulants...obviously. And today in the pharmacy, I checked back with "The Binder" to varify something that had occured to me...Desoxyn is not there.

Interesting...

Drugs, Psychology, medicine, the brain, and brain chemistry really fascinate me and I've done a lot of my own research...just to learn. - I'm a very curious person. Well, being a fellow ADHDer, I've done a lot of research on the different medications and know about the popular ones, as well as the rare and mysterious Desoxyn.

I decided to mention something about the "missing drug" from the CII supply to one of the pharmacists that I work with. I started by telling her that I noticed there was a Schedule II drug that was not there, so she asked what it was. I told her that it's called Desoxyn and briefly explained that it's methamphetamine, a last resort ADHD stimulant medication.

Well...she hadn't heard of it! She pretty much said that it wasn't it or that it didn't exist and proceeded to name some other drug that I wasn't too farmiliar with. I quickly decided that I wasn't going to argue with her about it and that was that.

Later I looked it up in the computer because you can type in a drug and get info about it. Well, It was there, BUT there was only the general drug information that could apply to ANY drug. It even explained that at the bottom. There was actually no specific information on Desoxyn that I saw.