View Full Version : Doctor isn't sure...

Sky81
08-02-07, 08:04 PM
If I have ADD or not.

She told me to read a book called Driven to Distraction….

I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder last year. I have had several manic episodes and I behave recklessly and get myself into trouble (like driving recklessly, reckless spending, etc). I get dangerously depressed and sometimes have mixed episodes (which is when you are depressed but manic and totally sucks).

One thing I have whether I'm depressed or manic is the attention span of a flea on meth.

I had loads of problems in school as a kid....so bad that special ed was recommended. My mother was very against medicating me or putting me in special ed, so I moved around from school to school. I was a late talker (very late), and I had odd behavior as kid (autism was also suggested and my mom didn't want to hear it). I didn't even make it out of high school.....

So as an adult I'm not without issues.

Amazingly enough I graduated college (and early too...I was 19). See it's not that I'm not smart...I've got a decent amount of intelligence.....

I now work as a chemist....actually a cosmetic formulator……

So here are the problems not resolved by the antipsychotic and anticonvulsant....

I still have the attention span of an insect...no really it's that bad. I can get in my car and start driving and a second later I have no idea why I left the house to begin with....it has taken me over three hours to make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich....

All that was chocked up to mania. But I'm not manic and medicated, so why can't I focus on anything???

At work I start ten things but I can't finish one. I don't actually start working until about lunch time, and I end up staying late because I have such a hard time actually finishing something.....Like I'll make a batch and wait until an hour after I'm supposed to leave to put the labels on the jars.