View Full Version : meds and addiction-is there reason to be concerned?

silkworm
11-05-07, 07:26 AM
Hi. I'm very new to this. My 9 year old son has just been diagnosed with add inattentive and it appears that his condition in the classroom will begin to cause him some serious problems. Up until now he has been a bright kid but now he's beginning to experience frustration and failures in the classroom. I'm in two minds about medication. I want what is right and safe for him. I have experienced very extreme opinions when I mention medication to friends and family. Those who oppose the idea say that add meds are 'speed' and are 'highly addictive'-possibly leading to drug abuse later in life. The literature I read suggests that kids that go untreated end up self medicating anyway. The latter makes more sense to me while the former smacks of hysteria. Still, it is something I would like to understand. Can anybody point me in the direction of any current reaserch being done on this question? I would be happy to read about any studies-whether they have pro or anti med outcome slants-it doesn't matter. I really need to be pointed to the broad range of current research so that I can be better informed in order to make a choice for my little boy. Thanks very much for your help:)

essentia
12-14-07, 02:32 AM
I have experienced very extreme opinions when I mention medication to friends and family. Those who oppose the idea say that add meds are 'speed' and are 'highly addictive'-possibly leading to drug abuse later in life. The literature I read suggests that kids that go untreated end up self medicating anyway.Emphasis mine above.

I think it's important in your role of advocate for your son to keep in mind that opinions of even the most well-meaning friends and relatives are just that -- their opinions. While we all have the obligation to let others be entitled to their opinins, we are not obliged to agree with them. :)