View Full Version : Trouble writing Essays? Try This!

ADD_Pyrate_Gurl
11-18-07, 07:35 PM
For me, writing the essay wasn't so hard, it was more about how to structure the essay and how to organize my thoughts onto paper. Once I started writing (or typing rather) the ideas just started flowing.

When I was a sophomore in High School, they introduced a new way of structuring paragraphs called 'Chunk Paragraphing'. It could be a 1 chunk, 2 chunk or 3 chunk paragraph.

1 chunk paragraph

1) Topic Sentence (TS) - Introduce the topic. Your first sentence.
2) Concrete Detail (CD) - A fact from the story, or the research you have done, like a quote.
3) Commentary (C) - Your thoughts about the CD.
4) Commentary (C) - Your thoughts about the CD.
5) Concluding Sentence (CS) - A final thought to wrap up the paragraph.

(chunk = Concrete Detail + 2 Commentaries)

1 Chunk Paragraph Example:

'Black Bart' Bartholomew Roberts was one of the most successful pirates in the Golden Age of Piracy, having captured 400 ships and thousands of pounds of treasure and cargo. Roberts created what is now known as the Pirate's Code, a list of articles, or rules, that promoted fairness and equality on board his ship. It could be said that the ideas of democracy could be traced back to the Pirate's Code. Without the Pirate's Code, America might not have become the democracy we know it as today. I believe even though pirates were blood thirsty killers, they did bring about the start of democracy and equality for all.

For a 2 or 3 chunk paragraph you simply add in more concrete details and commentaries to the paragraph.

2 chunk paragraph

1) Topic Sentence
2) Concrete Detail
3) Commentary
4) Commentary
5) Concrete Detail
6) Commentary
7) Commentary
8) Concluding Sentence

3 chunk paragraph

1) Topic Sentence
2) Concrete Detail
3) Commentary
4) Commentary
5) Concrete Detail
6) Commentary
7) Commentary
8) Concrete Detail
9) Commentary
10) Commentary
11) Concluding Sentance