View Full Version : Some ideas on a.d.d. and teaching

robi kundera
11-20-07, 08:43 PM
I'm a first generation add kid, now thirty-one. I am also a high school english/writing/media-studies teacher. Here are some of the most helpful things I've learned about teaching add students.

Punishment doesn't work. They won't correct the behavior and only causes frustration on both ends. I use a positive reinforcement system where I give tickets to students for desirable behavior which they could later trade in for points on an assignment or a paper extension. If anyone wants more details let me know.

Let them do jobs during class. Take notes on board. Erase board. Go get the t.v. from the library, etc. The other kids will understand; make a light joke of it.

When any student is acting up I will focus all my attention on them until it stops. Next walk over and just stand quietly by their side and wait;make it a bit uncomfortable for them.

I think this book is great:
http://www.amazon.com/Rediscover-Joy-Learning-Don-Blackerby/dp/1889997005/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1195605747&sr=8-1

QueensU_girl
11-20-07, 11:07 PM
If there is frustration with LD/ADD children, i think it is important to slow down and ask what all might be going on with them, deficit wise.

ADD is more than the obvious "golden triad" of inattention, hyperactivity and impulsivity.

For example: Executive Dysfunction of the Frontal Lobe is a huge problem that teachers do NOT get.

'When your brain doesn't work right, your life doesn't work right.' (e.g. socially, academically, occupationally, athletically, etc.)

http://www.schoolbehavior.com/conditions_edfoverview2.htm

For example, most ADDers have terrible Auditory Memory or Auditory Processing deficits (shows on NeuroPsych Testing).

So... We don't always "Process or "Remember" what we just Heard. (Once it gets IN THERE, though, we can be Elephants. <G>)

=========