View Full Version : New to forum: Teaching and ADD (sorry so long)

lurunning
11-20-07, 10:09 PM
Hi! I'm Dana,

I was just recently diagnosed with ADD and am trying to see how medication makes me feel.

I am a new teacher, and while I noticed things in high school/college that made me realize I was "different" from other people, now that I am teaching, I notice how debilitating it is to have a thousand thoughts running through my head when I'm trying to "lecture" in front of a classroom of h.s. students.

Growing up my parents expected a lot from us in terms of school and getting a good education. My older brother was extremely intelligent (currently receiving his PhD in physics) and I followed him with mostly A's and B's. But, I do remember often times daydreaming so much in class that I would try to pinch myself to focus every so often. In band class one day we were told to bring our uniforms home for a parade on Saturday, and I'd be the ONLY one to not know there was a parade...I remember thinking that there were so many "bad" students who remembered to take their uniforms home, and why I never heard the teacher tell us (numerous times) to bring our uniforms home...i was a "good" student whom the teachers liked because I was very hardworking.