View Full Version : I think I need to join the Cycling Club here!

AZKam
12-01-07, 01:15 AM
I feel like I just found my peeps! (my like-minded people, not the little marshmallow things) I've been reading some posts, and I feel like I'm not alone - there are people going through the same stuff!!

Anyways, I'm still trying to figure out if I'm really ADD or if it is just a combo of bipolar/depression/effects of Lamictal. Ultimately, I'm not sure I care what the actual labels are, I just want things fixed. So, if Adderall (or something else) will give me my brain back, call it ADD if you need to!

I'm new to the ADD diagnosis, and am just at 15mg Adderall XR. My psychologist wants my meds-doc (actually a psychiatric nurse who is in the same office as psychologist) to move me up to 50mg of Vyvanse (equiv to a lower dose of Adderall), but the meds-doc is very conservative at prescribing, so I might be trying a different doc.

I sort of feel like we're trying to use the Adderall to combat some of the existing depressive symptoms (crawling back into bed an hour or two after I get up, etc).

Oh, and to make the whole thing a lot worse - I'm working on my dissertation - about the worst thing possible when it comes to not having a set schedule, set deadlines, requiring TONS of focus, self-initiative, etc. Yep, fun stuff!

I know I probably should have introduced myself on the main board for that, but it just seemed like this is the section where I'll fit in the best, so here I am.

~boots~
12-01-07, 01:17 AM
welcome AK :-)

Matt S.
12-01-07, 01:19 AM
The Cycling Team gladly accepts new members. Mood Swings are a focal point in my life.

Spongedaddy
12-01-07, 08:27 AM
Hello and welcome. Are you on anything right now? I wasn't sure if you were saying you were taking Adderall and/or Lamictal or if you don't care what you want to take. Labels are just pointers to help us identify things. I think your perspective is a healthy one: getting better is what's important/

AZKam