View Full Version : Does anybody have more than one Learning Disability?

ah09087
12-19-07, 03:08 AM
...more than one LD?
...trouble "coming out" to teachers?

I kinda wanted to create a ranting thread for us...so here goes!

Tiddlywinks
12-19-07, 11:27 PM
LD in reading and math.

meadd823
12-20-07, 08:18 AM
I have more than one kind of reading disbaility - but I do not "do" teachers any more.

ah09087
12-31-07, 12:06 AM
My History and English Teachers always think I don't try cuz my comments in class are "brilliant" but my writing suffers. I don't know how they can be brilliant when I never read the assignment. I have enough stress without torturing myself. It would be so much easier if I could just come clean maybe they would stop riding me but I can't bring myself to do it. I don't want to be thought of as "the dyslexic" or the "poor thing".

Tiddlywinks
12-31-07, 08:14 PM
Now that I am a teacher, and am dyslexic, I am teaching my student's how to appoach those horrid teachers, so the teachers don't look down upon them. I teach them to use "I" statements, and how to word questions to show that the student is interested in learning the content, but to get the help needed, and not look like the student is trying to pull the "I'm LD, so I can't do it" card.

I have been there, I know how teachers just look at you like you are lazy. In undergrad, I had a math teacher tell me she didn't believe in Math LD's, it was just an excuse to be lazy. The next semester I was taking a sewing class, which I excelled in. The math teacher was taking it for fun. We had the same pattern, and she had screwed it up something terrible. She asked me for help. I told her she was just lazy!!!

ah09087
01-01-08, 03:17 AM
We had the same pattern, and she had screwed it up something terrible. She asked me for help. I told her she was just lazy!!!

You can say that?!:eek:

casper
01-05-08, 06:56 PM