View Full Version : A little guidance please.....

ridiculoushuman
12-19-07, 12:06 PM
Ok, I just joined the site and this is my first time post. I'm kind of lost here so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I have been diagnosed by a few different doctors as Bi-polar II and ADHD. I'm a 25yr old male and will usually go out to a bar or two over the weekend and typically I will get intoxicated. I have done a few drugs in the past which includes abusing opiates. Luckily I never got to the point where I would ingest more then one or two pills and I kinda just grew out of it. So my question is could I be getting poor treatment because of my honesty with my doctors? I mean I have been prescribed Focalin 30mgs before and make my doctors aware of this also. So if I wanted to abuse medication I easily could have just kept going to that doctor, however it gave me anxiety and didn't help much so I discarded the medication. I also have never even experimented with any kind of upper before in my past and have no desire to, for fear of anxiety. I have been taking provigil for at least 6 months and it does nothing for me yet my doctor insists I continue taking it. She pretty much doesn't even listen to me and I stess how bad my adhd is. I suggested Straterra at one point, assuming she didn't trust me with anything else, and I never felt worse in my life and couldn't even get past the 4th day on the medication.

My adhd is impacting my life daily, in work, school, my relationship, I forget things and lose things. What should I do? I mean if medication isn't the answer that's fine but provigil isn't doing anything. Is it possible I'm not getting effective treatment because of my past substance abuse? And if so what should I do about it?

Please help. Sorry for the long post.

EYEFORGOT
12-19-07, 04:17 PM
Post away, that's what we're here for, and warm welcome to you. :)

will usually go out to a bar or two over the weekend and typically I will get intoxicated