View Full Version : Anxiety worsened by Adderall???

NickL30
01-16-08, 09:59 PM
I am going thru a very tough time right now especially dealing with financial disaster from years of compulsive shopping (I discussed more in the Bipolar forum), but I find that after taking Adderall, I feel extremely jittery and anxious a few hours later. Seems like it worsens ADHD & anxiety when it wears off. Everyday feels like a mix of anxiety, bipolar disorder (mixed cycles), and ADHD.

I was prescribed Xanax and find that I need to take 2 pills at night (1MG) in order to get some sleep. The other night, I thought I was hallucinating hearing voices, seeing the walls move and felt pretty bad the next day.

ninjanicole
02-17-08, 07:56 AM
I have no experience with this as i am yet to start taking anything (i got diagnosed with anxiety and adhd combined type last week) but my psychologist made a point of saying that they treat the anxiety first and when they have that under control they start on the adhd. Perhaps thats why?

busyhermit
02-18-08, 04:12 PM
My pdoc said she would not prescribe me any kind of stimulant for ADHD because I have some pretty severe anxiety and agitation already, and she felt it would make me worse. I'm on Celexa and Klonopin to try to get the depression/anxiety under control before looking at the ADHD. Makes sense to me. I find that I can think and function a little better as my anxiety decreases anyways. Definitely talk to your dr about the reactions you're having. Could be the Adderall just isn't the answer for you - you certainly don't want something that's making you feel worse!

DeloresMelon
02-18-08, 05:45 PM
My doctor cautioned me about anxiety in regards to my Adderall.

I don't know if she meant adderall CAUSED anxiety, or exasperated any anxiety I already have... ??

Perhaps a non-stimulant would be worth looking into. Discuss with your doctor of course.

nikkiana
02-18-08, 05:56 PM
My doctor cautioned me about anxiety in regards to my Adderall.