View Full Version : NVLD and writing

imadhdtoo
02-18-08, 11:39 PM
I was diagnosed with NVLD at the same time as ADHD (about a year ago). I'm a junior in college right now and I'm a terrible writer. Its a bit ironic really, because I'm currently the head tutor at the writing center, but I maintain that I can help people with it so well because I'm just so bad at it and have tried everything.

All my life, I've heard, "Whitney, you're ideas are really interesting but I can't follow your paper." I swear, ADHD and NVLD ganged up to make things hard-- not only do I go excitedly chasing after every shiny thing I see, but its really really hard to translate the mush in my brain into language that makes sense. It frustrates my professors because they say I talk about ideas really really well, but when they get my work there's a huge discrepancy (sort of story of my life). And, well, it frustrates me because I really want to write. I'm happiest when I'm hashing out ideas, and, well, actually being able to share them would be cool. At one point I was dreaming of Grad School, but these days I just think I'm too stupid.

I guess, after rambling, does anyone have any suggestions for improving writing? I just don't know where to go and I really don't want to throw my hands in the air and give up (plus, my school requires a year long senior thesis and... uh... I don't really want mine to suck...).

Thank you.

TygerSan
02-19-08, 01:27 PM
Hi, I've got signs of NVLD as well. People always tell me that I'm a good writer, but it takes me forever to organize my ideas. I find I work best if I can discuss my ideas with other people. I've always fantasized taking a tape recorder to discussion sessions so that I can remember the conclusions that I drew in conversation and translate them into written arguments. That interaction tends to firm up the "topic sentences" or the topics that I want to cover.