View Full Version : anorexia and ritalin...

sarey
02-19-08, 05:17 PM
i have anorexia (or so ive been told) and ive been put on ritalin

apparently ritalin can CAUSE anorexia

um, so i dont know

what are the effects of ritalin specifically?
is it bad for me to take ritalin?

confused...

but the effect ritalin gives me is like, i feel much different, calm, focusued... but ive JUST started, so obviously itll take some time to get used to

but i lose my appetite completely
and i dunno...
ive lost a bit of weight too...

ozchris
02-19-08, 05:52 PM
I'd imagine it'd be bad but I'm not an expert.

I've heard of anorexic/bulimic people getting addicted and abusing meds like Ritalin/Dex/Desoxyn because they get rid of your appetite.

Matt S.
02-19-08, 05:57 PM
I have an ED, actually if I lose five or ten more pounds I will probably be diagnosed as Anorexic again, but now I rationalize and say that 3 months ago I was close to 200 pounds from a med I was taking and I wanted to lose that weight.

It turned into a control thing and I dumped my Dexedrine out 3 weeks ago and still have been losing (Mania takes away my appetite) so I will have to make myself eat again because I start my dexedrine in a few days after my mood stabilizer kicks in.

On medication though, I acknowledge that I am thin and I don't actively restrict because I focus on different things, active restriction versus a severe side effect medically most likely won't be seen as anorexic behavior, if you are honest.

sarey
02-21-08, 01:54 PM
blah i dnt know what to do...
*sigh*

ozchris
02-21-08, 08:48 PM
You need to talk to someone experienced with this sort of thing. A psychologist and a psychiatrist working together would be the best.