View Full Version : Try Being a Resource Room Teacher with ADD

stanleycupkjb
02-19-08, 06:40 PM
I am mid-winter break right now, and I have finally caught up with lesson plans and grading. The next big thing is RTI I only have 10 kids waiting to be tested and another 15 to process through RTI. Which 18 is my caseload limit and will put me be way over. Because I know they will all qualify. But at least at work my kids keep from ever getting bored.

Rebs
02-21-08, 02:55 PM
Oy, tell me about it! (By the way, mid winter break? LUCKY!!!) I've been a resource teacher (more like "inclusion support") for the past three years... way different from the previous 12 years of having my own spec. ed. classroom. Not that doing self-contained was easy, it was just that my little/big ADD issues were not quite so flagrantly displayed to a large range of people!!!

So how long have you been teaching? Any secrets to share for how to cope with it all?

Glad to see another special ed teacher! =)

Rebs

stormkat
03-04-08, 09:04 PM
I am so glad to see other resource room teachers here! I have taught in special ed for about 7 years. The longer I teach, the more burnt out I feel. I think it has a lot to do with ADD. I have always had a hard time organizing and "using my time wisely". With 25 on my caseload and new ones to test almost weekly, I just can't seem to get on top of things. I would really like to try something else for awhile, but I have no idea what.

How do you all handle the paperwork, lesson plans, meetings etc? I feel pretty bad about myself for not being able to handle it all easily.

Sorry for the pity party! I am just glad to hear about other people in similar situations!

Rebs
03-19-08, 06:46 AM