View Full Version : Spring Cleaning

reesah
02-22-08, 09:44 PM
my house is really, really squalid right now. I've been working more hours than usual and really lazy for a few months...and even when I'm not "lazy", I'm pretty bad at any kind of cleaning.

I have a lady that comes once a week and takes out trash, does dishes, and cleans off my coffee table into a crate...but that's it. if it wasn't for her I'd be even worse off. I had spiders (AAAAGH) in the coldest months, now I have ants (YIKES) in the living room.

I have to do real cleaning. I'm a pack rat so I have to get rid of a ton of stuff too. I asked my best friend and her roommate to come help me on my next days off, next sun, mon and tues. they're going to help all weekend.

but I have no idea where to start ot what to do- actually until I started reading this site I didn't know what dusting was. (i had to go look it up after reading that thread!) or that windows got cleaned. I was pretty much raised by wolves on neptune...I never knew how to do laundry until a few years ago (id just drop the bags off at a laundry or throw them out and go to thrift stores and get more.)

I'm not too worried about getting rid of things- I'm a pack rat but I'm also not too attached to "stuff" deep down. I'm more worried about figuring out how to clean the place and organize it. how can I make it so I don't end up buried in rubbish again? I live alone, so it only bothers me, but it gets depressing to me to be staring at piles of nonsense and trash everywhere. plus, ants?

I mean, I don't have to scrub walls and stuff right? I think I have a vaccuum somewhere though, and some lysol, and stuff.

what kind of stuff do I need to clean? I'm embarrassed to ask my friends when they come, I feel like an idiot not knowing the simple things, it's hard enough that they'll see my mess but I'd rather they thought I was lazy and nuts, than that I was foolish and clueless!