View Full Version : New Study Shows Ritalin Stunts Kids' Growth

Bluerose
03-13-08, 04:14 AM
New Study Shows Ritalin Stunts Kids' Growth.

"According to the Washington Post, 10% percent of 10-year-old American boys are on Ritalin or similar drugs. From my experience as a teacher I can tell you that there are some kids for whom the drugs are useful--I've seen it firsthand. On the other hand, for most boys it is useless and counterproductive. The problem is not our boys--the problem is that our schools refuse to adapt and accommodate boys' educational needs and learning styles."

http://glennsacks.com/blog/?p=940

thewfh
03-23-08, 09:54 PM
I also read that Ritalin caused cancer in rats.... I'm going to dig deeper into that. It showed (if I remember right) liver tumors and chromosomal damage/changes. Wow.... Right now, they're considering doing deeper studies but don't see a huge concern in Ritalin. Just FYI

adhdogwalker
03-26-08, 01:18 AM
My parents never put me on ADHD meds when I was a child even though I was very obviously in need of them. This is the reason they always used. Even so, I had a growth delay and had to go to the endocrinologist constantly. I grew eventually but never quite made it to 5'3", so I'm not that short, but I wouldn't care if I were shorter than I am now. I would gladly sacrifice the ability to think clearly and have a conversation for a few inches. I suppose children aren't able to see it that way, though.

QueensU_girl
03-27-08, 12:24 AM
re: #1
it is also confusing antisocial symptoms like conduct disorder, with ADHD too. (they sometimes co-occur.)

QueensU_girl
03-27-08, 12:26 AM
re: #3

Did you ever get that figured out? Pituitary problems?

Imnapl
03-27-08, 12:29 AM
Unmedicated kids with ADHD are more likely to start smoking cigarettes. Cigarettes stunt growth - another study just hit the news.

QueensU_girl
03-27-08, 12:33 AM
re: 6

"pick your poison" WRT height stultifying agents, I guess, huh? ;)

variance
03-27-08, 06:24 AM